300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running

I have been running for 3 yrs .my fastest 1.5 11:28 ( would like to get ig into 10's fastest 3 mile 24 mins. I broke my ankle march 2016 and couldnt run for 5 months but it only took me 10 miles to gef my speed back and i have been running more conservatively since then. Not going from 2 to 4 mile the next day. For the past two week i have been running 2 miles with a average pace in the 9's. Monday i ran 6.25 miles in 1 hour then again same distance and time friday. I shouldnt be doibg that but i felt good so.. All i do for legs is run but im looking to get into biking and a pool. My average pace is 8:20-8:45 if i push i can get it to low 8's but for only 3 miles. It felt like i was flying today but nope lol previous i have sone 7 & 8 miles in my hr runs.. Any advice to break that 8 mile pace, i have not done intervals yet i havein past though but its so hard and tiring i stick to regular runs with some fartleks... End rant

I tend to go out too fast and my times get slower. Should i go slightly faster then i usually run every interval or , or balls to the wall for as long as i can each time. Im going to be taking 1 min breaks between sets i average 1:20-1:30 each quarter mile which is good since i want to break 8 min mile

Comment

Interval training. Do a mix of sprints and jogging, 3/4 speed runs to build up speed in endurance. For example, sprint 20 sec, jog 30, sprint again, go half speed or 3/4, repeat, repeat. Basically you want to gradually increase the amount of time you sprint and go 3/4 speed until that endurance builds up. Also helps to build up leg strength so do some squats, leg raises, calf raises, lunges etc. Main thing is stay consistent. Taking time off will kill it

Comment

I effing hate squats my knees hurt like hell afterwards probably cuz im not used to it

Comment

• m.p.c
          m.p.c commented
          Editing a comment