300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Martial Arts any good?

Hi there, I'm an LEO in England and was thinking of taking up a martial art but was wondering if they are any good and can they help you restrain violent suspects as some people you talk to claim they work in competitions but not on the street. If they do work can anyone recommend which one works best? I was looking at taking up Aikido but I've heard Ju Jitsu may be better. Any advice would be great thanks

Look in to Krav Maga also. www.krav-maga.com
    MrAiric7

"Keep Your Priorities in Order"

"Know When to Act Without Hesitation"

Comment

I go with Brazilian Jui Jitsu. Study up on it and you will see that it is primarily based on locks and chokes; both of which come in handy dealing with LE.

Comment

Thanks for that. I've looked at the krav maga site and the only classes are in the south east and london which is the other end of the country. I studied karate for 2 years 4 years back but became frustrated by the competion work your had to do as well as kata's. It seemed you would do kata work for 2 weeks then 2 weeks of competion learning how to get points in fights and maybe a half hour of street skills as they were called or self defence moves. I just want art that teaches you moves strickes locks and holds that you can use.

Comment

I've been searching for a martial arts too, but I can't find what I'm looking for.

I'm looking for an art that is focused mainly on grappling/submission holds and strikes (mostly punching; not alot of kicks). I'd prefer that it would be offensive based, keeping the enemy off balance and not ready for a continous attack. And if they get the edge offensively, then it turns to locks, submission holds, etc.

I guess I should just create my own style Any websites explaining each style would be greatly appreciated. I've tried googling, but haven't really found what I want yet.

Comment

Originally posted by HartleyVU