Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• reoccurring back/neck problems

Plain and simple:

What is the best exercise that I can do without hurting my back (either right then or the next morning, etc)?

Today, I went to the doc and I have a Lumbar Strain.

Click here: Lumbar Strain

I am tired of doing exercises at home (treadmill's not so rough, but I get bored) such as squats (I use a wall for balance), crunches, push-ups etc and my back start KILLING ME! I'm ONLY 34!! (Only..right???)

The weather is going to be getting nice & I was considering cycling..?
    I'm not a "runner"...I "trot". LOL

My neck goes out without any given notice too. "Strained muscles" there. Had a physical therapist say it's bec. I have no muscle mass between my shoulder blade area. <sigh>

I have GOT to stay in shape. I HATE feeling frumpy, but get tired of hurting so bad.

Gyms are expensive (not in our budget at the time) and I prefer to work out solo (not interested in all the "socializing" I've experienced before).

Help..?
    Last edited by SERENAs UNIT; 02-18-2004, 07:52 PM.
    "...there is no authority except that which GOD has established...he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgement upon themselves."
    ROMANS 13: 1,2 (NIV)

SERENA - it's obvious that you need work on flexibility (trunk and hamstrings), and muscular strength (particularly core body strength).

However, you have an existing back injury (and a neck that "goes out" regularly) - and because of those two issues I would say that you should not get specific advice from people on the internet. Right now you need professional, hands-on advice (from a physical therapist at a rehab center). They can develop a safe, well-structured program - both short-term (to help you recover from your current injury), and long-term (to help you minimize the chances of re-injury).