300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smolov Jr Bench

Well I've been lifting seriously for about 10 months now and recently I found myself at a stand still as far as bench press (around 240 for 1 rep max)

Well, in just three weeks I have increased my 1 rep max to 270 pounds with the Smolov Jr bench press program.

Here's the layout of the program:

Week 1 (SETSxREPSxWEIGHT)

Mon- 6x6x70%
    Wed-7x5x75%
    Fri- 8x4x80%
    Sat- 10x3x85%

Week 2

Mon- 6x6x70% +10 lbs
    Wed-7x5x75% +10 lbs
    Fri- 8x4x80% +10 lbs
    Sat- 10x3x85% +10lbs

Week 3

Mon- 6x6x70% +15 lbs
    Wed-7x5x75% +15 lbs
    Fri- 8x4x80% +15 lbs
    Sat- 10x3x85% +15 lbs

Week 1 you just do the percentages.
    Week 2 add 10 lbs to the percentages.
    Week 3 add an additional 5 lbs to week 2's weight (or 15 lbs to week 1's weight)

The program doesn't mention this but in addition to doing this program I also did various cable tricep workouts, barbell curls, and farmers walks on the lifting days.

Anyway, I've seen a lot of questions here from guys looking to gain strength/size and just thought this might be of some help. If you have any questions, give me a shout.
    Sometimes nothin' can be a real cool hand...

OH. I should also add that when you're doing this many reps it is extremely important to focus on form to prevent injury.

Comment

That might work for a short time but you are going to hurt doing that for long.

<-------- Thirty-two years of heavy lifting, wrecked joints and arthritis.
      Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem. - Ronald Reagan

I don't think It'll happen in the US because we don't trust our government. We are a country of skeptics, raised by skeptics, founded by skeptics. - Amaroq

Comment