300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calf Strain?

I might be jumping the gun, but I figured I'd post in case anyone wanted to offer an unofficial diagnosis or recommend treatment.

I started training for a half marathon a little over a month ago. I'm training in a program through a local running store. We've gradually increased our mileage, and today we ran about 7 miles. I felt fine the whole way until about the last half mile when I started getting what I thought was a cramp in my left calf. It started to get increasingly painful and I slowed down my pace considerably to finish. The pain is only there when I try contract the muscle or "push off." I have full range of motion with no pain and it's not really painful to touch. And it's not really painful to stretch. But I can't walk normally without some pain.

At this point I'm trying to guess whether this was just a bad cramp or if I may actually have a muscle strain. I'm really nervous about it now because I've been trying hard to get in my best shape for the police academy, which I recently learned will probably start in Feb.

So anyone have a guess? Cramp? Strain? Something worse?
    "No one can make you feel like a turd without your permission." - Eleanor Roosevelt.

Can't tell you, but this may be helpful: back in my fencing days, when we would have all-day or two-day competitions, my coach insisted we drink Gatorade, and they always served salty food. Some of us took salt tablets.

You sweat out all your salt-- but your muscles need salt to work properly.

Dunno if that's it or not, but it might be something to consider.

Good luck with it!
    We do not all come to religion over the wandering years,
    but sooner or later we all get to meet God. -- Edward Conlon

Comment

Originally posted by Chaplain Keppy View Post
      You sweat out all your salt-- but your muscles need salt to work properly.