300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Workout program

I have approximately 16 months until I begin applying to agencies (agreed to wait till the wife finished college) and I am looking to start a workout program that will not only help me excel physically at the academy as well as on the street. I am by no means saying I expect to be a standout, I simply don't want to be the one holding anyone back or being the one people don't feel like they can depend on.

Background: I have never really worked out. A few times I started lifting weights, but each time I over did it and burned out after maybe a week. I have never done a cardio regimen or anything like that. As a kid I rode a bike miles a day but after I turned 16 all exercise ceased completely. I am now 25 and I am ready to get healthy and in shape to be able to handle what may come in the future.

Currently my stats are:
    6'1"
    220 lbs
    ~28% Body Fat (measured with an at-home scale)

I can do maybe 2 legitimate pushups and 15 situps. I have absolutely no running endurance, and every time I try to start jogging to get in shape I do something to my shins and can't walk for several days. It isn't shin splints because I have had those after using an elliptical and those I can deal with. I can only assume that my tibia can not handle pushing the extra 35 pounds of weight on my body very hard.

I have recently begun cycling as it does not affect me the way jogging does and it gets my heart rate up. Right now I ride 5 days a week for 30-40 minutes staying at 70%-80% of my Max HR. I have been doing this for two weeks. I already feel better and have more energy, which prompted me to want to start a full program.