300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running my first 5k - any tips?

So 12 weeks ago, I started training for my first 5k race. I have come a LONG way. I have gone sucking wind after walking a 20-minute mile to just starting to suck wind after two miles in 19 minutes.

The race is in just about a week. I plan to keep training right up through Thursday, and then either take Friday and Saturday off or just go light on those days. I'm not doing anything new or different between now and then either.

Any tips, hints, or well wishes for a first-time 5k runner?

Originally posted by hxd View Post
    So 12 weeks ago, I started training for my first 5k race. I have come a LONG way. I have gone sucking wind after walking a 20-minute mile to just starting to suck wind after two miles in 19 minutes.

The race is in just about a week. I plan to keep training right up through Thursday, and then either take Friday and Saturday off or just go light on those days. I'm not doing anything new or different between now and then either.

Any tips, hints, or well wishes for a first-time 5k runner?
    I'm not a personal trainer, fitness guru, doctor, or anything important. However, I once was a bad runner, just like you were. I ran my first 5K last September and finished in about the middle of the pack. My only advice is to keep your own pace...just like a PAT. Don't try and stay with those guys who start off at a dead sprint...it's more fun passing them 2 miles later when they're out of gas. Have fun and savior that sense of accomplishment when you cross the finish line. GOOD LUCK!
    Last edited by OTVFD18; 08-24-2008, 09:24 AM.

Comment

Just finish.

Finish at your own pace.

Finish proudly.

Just finish.
      No man is above the law and no man is below it: nor do we ask any man's permission when we require him to obey it.
      -Theodore Roosevelt