300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unusual or Obsolete Duty Weapons

I'm curious what unusual or obsolete duty weapons you've carried in the past. The first department I worked full time for (a community college district) had no firearms policy whatsoever! We could carry what we wanted to, any ammunition we wanted to carry was "ok" and there wasn't any requirement to qualify after we graduated from the academy. Needless to say, there wasn't as much concern about civil liability in those days (the 70's). At the same time, I was a reserve officer with a nearby municipal police department. Usually, I qualified regularly with that department's authorized duty weapon and carried it while working for my primary employer, but......just for the heck of it (and so in later years I could say I did) I carried a .44 magnum Ruger Blackhawk single action revolver with a 4 5/8" barrel in a Roy Baker original "Pancake" holster. It was loaded with 250 grain LSWC ammo, clocked about 1000 fps. A "dump pouch" carried six extra rounds. Although openly carried, nobody noticed I was carrying a slightly improved version of the old Colt "Peacemaker"!

Although I carried the Ruger "Flat-top" only for a few days, for more than a year I carried a little Star PD .45 auto. It was my "official off-duty" pistol associated with the municipal PD and was great in the semi-plain clothes role with the college police. It was light, accurate and as reliable as any .45 auto I've ever owned.

I'm curious what firearms other officers have carried or presently carry, that differ from the usual Glocks, Sigs, etc... Post em up!
    "I'm not fluent in the language of violence, but I know enough to get around in places where it's spoken."

I carried an H&K USP45F Stainless for the first couple years. It wasn't rare, nor old, but it was very unique at my department.
    J. Wise

AR-15 - AK-47 - NFA Trusts - My Pick - Carry Guns - 1911s