300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to expect on my first trip to the range

Ok, here is the deal: I have no experience shooting handguns. Soon, I am going to the range for the first time. I have some questions that you guys will undoubtedly be able to answer. Will it be a problem that I don't have any handgun experience? When I tell the employees this, will they show me what I need to know? What gun should I rent (Glock, Springfield, Ruger) and what caliber? Thanks for the help and let me know if you have any other sage advice or words of wisdom.

ask around before you go anywhere. My first trip the employees were really mean and rude to me. I had some experience before just not at their range it was my departments and they treated me really bad.

Comment

I would suggest shooting a 22 first, to get the feel for it then move onto what fits your hand the best. Also the range here won't let you rent a lane if it's your first time, they make you take a course not sure how it will be where you are going but just be aware.

Comment

^^ True to that last bit about renting. Alot of shops want you experienced. Plus, have your FOID? That's required. Like was said, start with a very low caliber gun if possible and then move up. Most departments I've seen issue 9mm, .40 and .45's. 9mm would be best to learn to qualify with IMO as it's more middle of the road. The higher calibers will usually have a bigger kick too.
        Good luck.

Comment

Thanks for all of your help, guys! I really appreciate it!

Comment

You might want to consider taking a basic firearms familiarization and safety course like those put on by the NRA. They cover basic firearms operation and safety and are a good first step before going to the range. Most of the time, range operators expect that someone going to shoot is at least passingly familiar with firearms or has someone who is showing them the ropes.