300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gun for academy, 1st time shooter

Hello guys this is my first post. I'm hoping to start academy in less than a month. I was told I needed to buy my own gun and have it for the academy on the first day. Before last week I've never shot a gun before in my life and I really don't know much. I've spent the last week doing tons of online research and I've got a basic idea of things. I was wondering if you guys could help me out.
    The following brands and calibers are allowed.
    Glock, H&K, Sig Sauer, in 9mm, .40, and .45
    Until last week I had no clue what any of this meant.

Brand:
    I've read that one good way to choose a gun is to see what feels good in your hand. I went to a gun range to try a few guns for feel. The Sig, and glock felt nice, with a slight preference for the sig. Although the Sig fit my hand, it did not fit my pocketbook as I am a college student. The H&K didn't feel right for me. So I figure I'm down to Sig (if I have the money) and Glock.

Size:
    I don't have large hands but the glock 19 & 23 compact felt funny on the palm of my hand where the magazine hits. The full size 17& 22 fits well. For the Sig, I liked both the 226 and the 229.

Caliber:
    I've read into countless articles and forums about calibers and it seems the best caliber is the one you can shoot most accurately. There are some that say .40 has more stopping power, but I'm inclined to believe that no hand bullet will "stop" a person and stopping power is somewhat a myth in the sense that a bullet has enough momentum to make a person fall. Countless articles about people who are on something say that some will still come at you and others will fall, it depends on their physical state. I've read that Bullet placement is key. Also being a beginner I've already ruled out a .45.