300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Sig Sauer P226 owners?

I bought a Sig P226 Mk.25 about a week or so ago. Which products do you guys recommend for general maintenance?

You can’t go wrong with classics like Hoppes, Rem Oil, a rag, and an old tooth brush.

There are also some great products like Frog Lube and TW-25 that I like. I’m a fan of Bore Snakes and own them in just about every caliber.

I like my air compressor and a little brake cleaner sometimes on big jobs. Dental picks work great, metal, not plastic.

Not a fan of Super Quick Clean. I think it sucks.

I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

• Levithane
      Levithane commented
      Editing a comment
      Thanks man, ill check out frog lube. I bought myself a 20 dollar pistol cleaning kit the other day that had a lot of the needed tools. Any opinion on use of WD40? I have heard mixed things of using it on firearms.
      Last edited by Levithane; 01-23-2019, 11:26 AM.

I carried SIG 226's for most of my long and undistinguished career. If you've heard mixed reviews of using WD-40 (and I have as well), why use it rather than one of the products designed for cleaning and lubrication of firearms?
    John from Maryland

Comment

• Levithane
      Levithane commented
      Editing a comment
      You are correct. I'll pick up a bottle of break free CLP or hoppes gun cleaner. After paying top dollar for a Sig, I'd rather not ruin it.

Will DW-40 work? Yes. Would I use it? No.

There are better products designed specially for firearms. One of the biggest concerns with WD-40 is the possibility that it might damage the bluing.

Comment