300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Patrol Rifle Advice

I’m getting rifle certified with my department. Rifles are privately purchased and policy pretty much makes all the popular manufactures an option to choose from. Just looking to get more opinions and advice from other LEO’s on which manufacturers and models I should look at. Any help is much appreciated.

Just so you understand that when you use it, it’s gone for years. Buy two.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Originally posted by CCCSD View Post
      Just so you understand that when you use it, it’s gone for years. Buy two.
      Yup. And this is why I wouldn’t recommend you blow your money on something uber tacticool.

Our guys are issued Colt and Rock River Arms. Both work well. I actually prefer the Rock River.

I owned a Remington (essentially a Bushmaster) and would have no concerns carrying it on duty.
      I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

• JaredO
        JaredO commented
        Editing a comment
        Agreed. I just want something reliable and not super expensive. I have heard good things from Rock River. Is there a particular model that you like?

• reils49
        reils49 commented
        Editing a comment
        You can’t go wrong with their Entry Tactical model. BUIS, optic and a light and your good to go.

Buy something that will go bang when you need it too and put a decent optic on it. You accomplish that by staying under 1k. As mentioned earlier, depending on the situation, once you use it, plan on never seeing it again.

Having a rifle while you are one of the first on scene is heaven-sent. There have been no less than 10 times in the past year or two I wasnt thankful that I had my rifle with me when ***** hit the fan.
      Last edited by scotty_appleton814; 10-13-2018, 06:51 PM. Reason: I can't spell without autocorrect

Comment