300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First firearm

I am looking to go and buy my first pistol so I can practice shooting. A friend of the family told me that I should probably just start out with a 22. He said that his 22 has no kick back, was inexpensive, ammunition was cheep, and would be a good beginner gun as I would not get discouraged.

What are your your opionions. I have no experiance, except for shooting a hunting rifle many years ago. Rember, I am a college student, so I dont have to much money to play with.

Do you think that I should go with a 22, or should I go bigger? Is there a make / model of gun that you would recomend?
    When a crime breaks out, all the cute girls shout
    get the, good looking guy

Your friend sounds like a smart man. You can buy a nice used 22 ruger automatic for cheap and have hours and hours of fun for very little money.
    "Respect for religion must be reestablished. Public debt should be reduced. The arrogance of public officials must be curtailed. Assistance to foreign lands must be stopped or we shall bankrupt ourselves. The people should be forced to work and not depend on government for subsistence." - Cicero, 60 B.C.

For California police academy notes go to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CABasicPolice/

Comment

Originally posted by pkagel
      Your friend sounds like a smart man. You can buy a nice used 22 ruger automatic for cheap and have hours and hours of fun for very little money.
      I have always trusted him with guns, seeing he has a small collection and I have no experiance. I just always like to have a second opinion.
      Thanks

Comment

.22 pistol is a great choice. Semi-auto or revolver. Another nice option is a .357 revolver. You can plink all day with a nice, light .38 Special Wadcutter load or go mean and nasty with a .357 Magnum +P round. Smith & Wesson, Ruger, Colt, you can't go wrong.

jdlong

Comment