300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ar-10 problem

Im new to the ar platform and have just recently finished building an armalite ar-10. Tried everything out make sure all the functions work like hey are supposed to prior to shooting and all was good. I took it out for a test fire and it fires the round and tries to load the next round but can't because the previous case it stuck in the chamber. After pulling pretty hard on the charging handle it will extract the case. Also had to tap one out with a cleaning rod. It does this every shot and I'm not sure what i have going on. I have only fired 4 rounds out of it and don't want to shoot any more till i figure out whats going on. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Not knowing anything about your build. Did you build with a .308 Winchester chambered barrel rather than a NATO 7.62X51. If you did then shooting the military cartridge can explain the stuck cases.

Try another brand of ammo, and some 308 winchester ammo rather than military ball.

Increase the tension of the extractor spring.

Comment

Also could be a problem with your combination of parts; barrell length and recoil buffer for example. Just because gun parts fit together, doesnt mean they function together. Without breaking down the rifle myself, its hard to say. Just curious, if you're new to the AR, why are you building one?
      I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Its chambered for .308 and i'm shooting federal ammo. I bought the upper already complete and milled an 80% lower. All the components where bought for me as a gift all i had to do was put it together. thanks for your answers. I'll try increasing the extractor spring and see if that helps.

Comment

I'm sorry i was incorrect about the what its chambered for. It says chambered for 7.62 nato but will shoot .308win or 7.62, all i have tried is the .308win cartridge so far should i try the 7.62nato and see if it works better?

Comment