300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your Thoughts on a .22LR Self-Defense Handgun

I have a G22 (.40) for carrying right now but damn, she's a beast. Real big, not easy to conceal. I am thinking about getting a cheaper and tiny .22LR handgun to carry instead. I'm not a ballistics expert but I know a .22 shot would hurt. But would it provide enough stopping power to stop/deter a ****ed off attacker(s)? Am I better off spending a little more money and get something like a .38? I am also thinking that more often than not, the mere presence of a gun is deterrent enough to stop an attack, which would disregard caliber. I am a poor college kid at the moment so price is an issue, but I only buy the best. If I need to spend a bit more I can wait a bit longer to get it. Thoughts are appreciated.
    Pursuing the dream.

Awaiting the start of Academy... April 28th.

If you only buy the best, then do so. A .22 LR can stop a threat, but if it is a good choice, why aren't the police, military, a ccw folks all carrying them? Ammo is cheap and you can carry hundreds of rounds around quite easily.

Do yourself a favor and get a 9mm. They are found in all sizes and shapes and the ammo is plentiful as sell as cheaper than the 40. OR, start reloading 40 ammo. That's cheaper yet.

A .22 can kill. But is it a proven man-stopper? The mere presance of a gun can deter. How many plastic toy guns look real ? A lot. No one will suggest you carry one around with you.
    Last edited by KenW.; 10-01-2012, 12:59 PM.
    I am concerned for the security of our great Nation; not so much because of any threat from without, but because of the insidious forces working from within.

Douglas MacArthur

Comment

Originally posted by jjbledsoe View Post