300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on guns.

Currently attending school for LE and I am licensed in permit to carry.
    I am looking for my first gun for practice range shooting as well as possible home protection. Something that is similar to a LE issued pistol.

Is there any advice?

Been looking at these 5 guns so far:

Glock 38, Glock 23, Glock 21, Sig 250 or Springfield XD 40.

Any information will help. I'm new to buying guns.
    Last edited by Jordanlis23; 06-26-2012, 03:29 PM.

Shoot then and see what you like better. Different guns work better for different people.
    Making the streets safer, one donut at a time

Comment

Thats what i am on doing, but there are soo many out there. I doubt i'd be able to shoot all of them and say, "yes, this is the one" out of 1000s...

i want to atleast have a narrow idea of how many and which to take a look at.
      I've never been to a gun range/store, so they allow you to shoot different guns before purchasing one similar style?

Sorry im a newb.

Comment

In your situation I would purchase a glock. If cost is not a concern I'd also consider H&K. XD is not a bad choice. I'd stay away from the sig 250 though. I've heard of problems with the 250 in the past and sig in general has been going down hill over the years in their quality control. My money would go with a glock.

Comment

Glock 38 45GAP that cartridge is going no where.
          Glock 23 same gun as a 9mm but with 50% more ammunition costs, can you afford to practice

Sig 250 low end model trying to get guns into departments with not much money functional gun

Glock 21 are your hands that big, again cost, can you afford to practice with $25-$30 a box ammo

Springfield XD 40 again ammo cost close to double that of 9mm, popular gun with competition, not so much for duty use, not sure why I suspect Springfield is not giving them away to police to generate citizen sales.