300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Holster help

I am a rookie with a small department and am issued a single retention holster, I don' feel comfortable with that, so I recently purchased a used Safariland 6360. I'm having trouble getting the gun out of the holster, and by trouble I mean I just can't do it. The first time I secured the weapon in the holster I had to end up disecting the holster just to get my gun out. Just from looking at the holster I would assume the gun needs to be rocked forward to get it out, but I can't get the gun to budge. So I guess I am begging for help so that I can start practicing with this holster so I can eventually carry it on duty.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jim,

I have just transistioned from Safariland 070 to 6360 and it is serving me well. First off, Do you have Level III or IV retention on your holster? Here's what I do with mine. I press down the hood with my thumb and push forward and press the retenion with the thumb and push rearward, gun drawn straight up (there should be no tilting involved).

I'd suggest that you get together with your department's firearms instructor and go over features of the holster. When I transistioned over to 6360 from 070, I had practiced drawing/reholstering close to a thousand times prior to my qualification course. Especially you coming using a single retenion holster to this new one, need to be trained on it.

Here's video tutorial from Safariland http://www.safariland.com/DutyGear/m...spx?model=6360

I hope this helps. If not, don't hesitate to contact me or others for more info.

Comment

M1,
      Thanks for the help. I have the Level III retention on this holster. I just put it all together and this thing is nice! I won't be qualifying with this until July, so I have plenty of time to practice.