300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That time of year

Well its almost that time of year....DEER SEASON . If your like me, opening day is the holiest, most talked about, dreamt about day of the year.

I was at Gander Mountain yesterday trying to find an excuse, any excuse to buy a new deer rifle. I don't actually need one. I have a gun cabinet full of rifles and shotguns that are more than capable of putting meat in the freezer and antlers on the wall. But I want one!

Where I hunt shots in excess of 100 yards are almost non-existent. When I use a rifle I take my trusty Marlin Model 336 in .35 Remington. When I use a shotgun its my Mossberg 500 with rifled barrel/scope combo that can put a sabot slug in the vitals at 150 yards.

What's everyone else using?
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

2004 Chevrolet Silverado. Strikes the deer at 88 feet per second and transfers maximum energy into the torso prior to brake application. Follow-up with the Smith and Wesson M&P .40 if necessary.

Comment

Last edited by bankfraudguy; 03-16-2011, 02:11 PM.

Comment

LOL espantoon! That's the most popular hunting weapon here too.
        Col. Jeff Cooper said, “One is no more armed because he possesses a pistol than he is a musician because he owns a piano”.

Comment

Remington 700 5R
          IOR 20 MOA Base
          Leupold Mark 4 Rings

When i hunt, i just use a Burris Fullfield II.

Its 12 lbs, not too bad, not real fun to shoot offhand but great to setup somewhere and shoot from a blind.
          -------------------------------
          You can't fix stupid, but you can arrest it. - LINY

"Their house, their rules. And when they get robbed, they can call 911 and ask them to send a hippie to protect them." - ateamer

Comment

If you're lucky

Help Block Animal Rightist Regulatory Czar

8/31/09