300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Tikka Rifle...

Probation Officer here in Nor Cal. Just bought my first big game rifle...took her to the range this weekend. I went with the Tikka T3, stainless/synthetic stock, in .300 Win Mag. I wanted one rifle that I could use to take just about anything in North America. I heard nothing but great things about the
    .300 Win Mag. Shot it out of the box this weekend. 1" groups at 100yds for a rookie rifle shooter, I was pleased. Was curious to get some feedback on the Tikka and the .300 Win Mag caliber. Did I make a good decision for a rifle that will handle just about anything I choose to hunt in North America?

I have no experience with the rifle, but I have a .300 Win Mag.

It is definitely capable of killing anything in North America, but I'd say it is a bit small for large dangerous animals such as moose or brown bear.

Comment

The Tikka is a great rifle. The fact that it is economical makes it even a better deal. One thing that you really need to do is invest in good glass. You don't need to spend mad money on a scope, but if you are spending $40.00 on a Wal-mart special, you will likely be disappointed. Quality for the money can be found in Leupold Rifleman and VX-1 series and the various Nikons. I have had luck with Simmons, but mostly on my varminters.

.300 Win Mag will safely cover all North American game and African plains game. It is a little light for the big bears and bison, but it will work. My General Purpose hunting rifle is a .30-06 that I am well in 2,850 fps with 180-grain Nosler Partitions. You will probably be best served by a good 180-grain bullet for everything from pig to moose.

Comment

Tikka is a fine rifle, a VERY good choice. I don't share the views of a lot of people, I think the .300 Mag is a fine cartridge, but too much is made of paper ballistics. You will be well served, as long as you are comfortable shooting it.