Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shooting before the academy

Hello

I just purchased my first handgun (Ruger P95PR15). I'm a poor college student so I couldn't afford anything super nice. I got the gun to have fun with at the range and to become at least a little familiar with a handgun before I start the police academy in August 2009. Anyway my question is: With no professional training what types of bad habits might I unknowingly start that will be hard to break once I start firearms qualification in the academy?

Thanks

Jeff

Originally posted by Jjackson View Post
    With no professional training what types of bad habits might I unknowingly start that will be hard to break once I start firearms qualification in the academy?
    All of them.

If you are going to shoot prior to the academy, have someone who know what they are doing (cop friend, NRA instructor etc.) teach you how to shoot.
    Let no one lose heart on account of this Philistine; your servant will go and fight him

Comment

I'd say the first bad habit will be your grip then all of the rest will come real quickly from there. The proper grip is the foundation of proper shooting.

Comment

Hello

With no professional training what types of bad habits might I unknowingly start that will be hard to break once I start firearms qualification in the academy?

Thanks

Jeff
        Lots of new shooters get so excited after their first range session, they gulp their drinks and dribble some on their shirt. But that's easy enough to fix later on.

Comment

Well, I know the mistake I make every time I get a new gun. Hopefully I caught you before it's too late:

The #1 mistake you are likely to make is: taking your gun to the range before you're completely familiar with the weapon (how to clean it/disassemble it, how all the parts work, and basic troubleshooting steps when stuff goes wrong). It really sucks if your gun jams on the range and you don't know what to do next.