300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Recommended starter gun?

Once I move into my new city I'm planning on picking up a possession acquisition license up here in canucksville. I want to practice with a rifle and pistol and I'm wondering what you guys would suggest to me as a good starter gun for both. Low caliber? Cheap? I'm pretty new to the whole game.
    "If you have to justify to yourself, or others why what you're doing isn't wrong; it is."

It depends on what you want them for. For just having a little fun, .22 rimfire is much cheaper. In rifles the Ruger 10/22 and Marlin 60 are good bets. For centerfire rifles, I'll let someone else field the question.

Among handguns, again if you want a .22 then something like a Browning Buckmark, Ruger Mark III, or perhaps a Beretta Neos U22. If you want centerfire and it's still mostly for fun, then probably something in 9mm simply because the ammo is cheaper these days. I'm partial to the S&W M&P, but there are also great Glocks and the Springfield XD in the same category. For something a little cheaper, my wife really enjoys shooting her Bersa Thunder 9 and even though some scorn the Bersa, there are loads of great reports about their Thunder series.

Comment

Ruger 10-22 rifle and Colt Woodsman pistol
      In the end we're all just chalk lines on the concrete drawn only to be washed away, for the time that I've been given, I am what I am. I'd rather you hate me for everything I am, Than have you love me for being something that Im not

Comment

Mostly I want to go into the academy with some experience under my belt. So I suppose it might help to learn what my local PD uses and simply buy that. I know they use a Glock 22 and the ETF Snipers use Remington 700 bolt-action rifles. I don't necessarily know how hard those would be to get a hold of.