300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Explorer Police Background Checks

I'm starting with the local Explorer Police post in Skokie, IL and although I'm not new to Scouting (I'm an Eagle Scout and Assistant Scoutmaster to my troop) nor am I new to Exploring/Venturing (I was in a High Adventure Crew as well as a Post for Camp Staff) I am new to Police Exploring. I was some what surprised that I was told I would have to have a pretty extensive background check and that I might not be allowed to join the post. (The officer in charge said they had had issues winth unsavory people in the past).
    I know many of you are less BSA oriented than police oriented, but is that allowed by scout regs? Have any of you had something like this when you joined your Police Post?

Anything else I should be prepared for (I have very little idea what to expect)?

Thanks in advance,
    Steve
    *NOT a LEO*

Learning is not compulsory. . . neither is survival.
    -Deming

my livejournal

Yeah, everyone gets a DOJ/FBI check. Even though it's sponsored by the BSA, you're working in a police department setting and they have their rules about who they let in their building, who they give door keys/key codes to, what kind of person they have wearing their uniforms/patches.

The BSA kind of sets the explorer program up with the police department, but the police department decides on the security measures needed. Police exploring is a lot different than regular BSA Troops, Venture Scouts, or even other Exploring. There usually isn't so much of the BSA mentality, except maybe with some advisors. Remember these guys are all cops, so there's a police/working-for-the-city/public-safety/real-job/life-and-death-situations mentality