Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How early on did you start amassing all your gear?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How early on did you start amassing all your gear?

I'm a newb and have a conditional offer from a local PD, so I haven't even started the academy yet. From reading several threads in this forum it seems like there is a lot of extra stuff that is either needed or is great to have, e.g. extra pair of boots, gloves, extra cuffs, hand sanitizer, lysol, etc. etc... My question is when did most of you start buying these items that your agency doesn't issue?

I'm not super concerned since I have a way to go before I'm on the streets, but am curious.

Thanks,

JP

I got a good bit of stuff right before I finished the academy. Boots, flashlights, clip boards, big nylon gear bag to carry it all. I would ask some of your agencies FTOs what you NEED the first day out. The rest you can look around at what other officers have and see what works best.

Comment

Originally posted by JP1882 View Post
      I'm a newb and have a conditional offer from a local PD, so I haven't even started the academy yet. From reading several threads in this forum it seems like there is a lot of extra stuff that is either needed or is great to have, e.g. extra pair of boots, gloves, extra cuffs, hand sanitizer, lysol, etc. etc... My question is when did most of you start buying these items that your agency doesn't issue?

I'm not super concerned since I have a way to go before I'm on the streets, but am curious.

Thanks,

JP

SHortly after i started out in LE,I started working for Tulsa County S.O. inTulsa.I started dating one of the clerks at the local Cop Shops.I used to get a hell of a discount!!I quickly got a hugh collection of Police Equipment..............right up until I found out she was married and I confronted her about it!!! Then i had to start paying full price for everything.LOL!!