Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fixed Blade Knife for Duty Belt - Suggestions?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fixed Blade Knife for Duty Belt - Suggestions?

I have been carrying a Benchmade Triage for several years, and it's been a very handy knife to have.

One thing I've been noticing in training and so forth is that under stress, like when I'm in a clinch with someone or defending against a gun grab, I can't get the knife out of my pocket and get it opened with any ease. I am looking at getting something that mounts on my duty belt on the reaction side for the purpose of countering a gun grab or deadly force clinch situation (and not some Hollywood BS knife fight obviously).

I don't want a huge knife, but it does need to be fixed blade, and mountable to the duty belt. Preferably it would use a kydex sheath or something similar that doesn't look like cheap nylon crap jury-rigged to work in a pinch.

Anyone have any suggestions?
    "Facts are stubborn things; and whatever may be our wishes, our inclinations, or the dictates of our passions, they cannot alter the state of facts and evidence."
    -John Adams

Disclaimer: My statements are personal opinions, and in no way reflect those of my agency.

Ka bar tdi

Comment

Some kind of a karambit (I haven't handled one, but Mookster's recommendation looks solid).

I like the karambits from Fox Knives (much nicer steel).
      FX-637 T pictured here:

If karambits aren't your thing, I'd recommend a Swamp Rat Rodent 3:

Last edited by Carbonfiberfoot; 11-15-2014, 01:05 PM.

Comment

Lots of guys in my neck of the woods carry Ka Bar TDIs, both the small ones and the larger ones. They seem pretty accessible and policies around here generally allow them.
        RIP EPD Kilcullen EOW April 22nd, 2011

The wicked flee when no man pursueth but the righteous are as bold as a lion.

Comment