300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off Duty Gear Choice?

Ok, I searched around and didn't see anything that really matched what I'm looking for.

Short story, I'm new to LE and I've been to court, but it's always been while I'm on duty in uniform. I know a LOT of LEO's prefer to go in a suite, so my question relates to that.

When going to court off-duty, what do you carry on your person? Gun, extra mag, cuffs, badge holder (on belt), one of the above, all of the above, or something else? It seems like most the people I see just wear their gun, and nothing else. Is this common in your experience? What about special details, functions, or training, do you wear the same gear, add more/less, or change it?

Thanks!

Gun and badge only for me; bailiffs here are sworn deputies and have cuffs, they're responsible for taking persons into custody. One or two in the courtroom are armed, the rest have other options.

Unless the gunfight is directed at me, no reason to have extra mag. Besides, our courts have dozens of on-duty/uniforms there at any given time. Better to let them handle most things than to risk blue on blue confrontations. But, we're a big city, YMMV

I rarely worked details. Whenever I did, it was uniformed and full battle gear. Vest, extra mags, cuffs, flashlights, etc

Comment

Court = full uniform
      In Valor there is hope

Comment

In my agency off duty, you are required to concealed carry authorized gun, one spare mag, restraint, ID & badge.
        On duty not in uniform, you have to open carry (except special situation) your duty gun, one spare mag, duty handcuff, ID & badge.
        When you go to court, you have to leave your gun at the check point unless you are in full uniform.

Comment

For Court:
          Gun, spare mag, handcuffs, badge around my neck with a polo shirt that says "POLICE"
          (\__/)
          (='.'=) This is Ninja Bunny.
          (")_(")
          Copy and paste Bunny into your