300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Portable Radio

Our issue portable radio's are crap, and I've been thinking of buying my own for about a year. The other day, I was responding to a fight in progress at one of our local flea bag motels and when I got out of the car, my radio fell off my belt and stayed on the driver seat. Needless to say, when a suspect began resisting and backup hadn't arrived yet, I had no radio. So now I'm on the market for a portable, and was wondering what everyone else carries. I don't want anything fancy, just reliable and simple to use.
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Motorola. If you post some more details we might be able to post a specific model or two.

Comment

Do you need a UHF or VHF, digital or not? Ect

We use the Motorola XTS 2500 in 700mhz, though a 1500 seems to work just as well (I don't use the screen and all the other do-dads). They are crystal clear (though it's either all or nothing) They run well over $1200 each.

If you are looking for an older non P25 radios, I've always liked the Motorola HT1000. Pretty reliable, though range leaves something to be desired. Get them pretty cheap on ebay

Comment

Yes, UHF, VHF or Digital would help.

If it's UHF, I have a Motorola MT2000 I could probably get to you pretty cheap.

I currently use a Kenwood TK-390 (UHF) and have no real complaints about it. I wasn't a big Kenwood fan at first, but I'm warming up to them.
        Other officer: Oh that's right, I forgot, you're God's gift to police work.
        Me: At least someone recognizes it.

Turns out basic police work isn't so hard, you just have to leave the station.

Comment

I'll have to check.

Comment

Originally posted by Dingo990 View Post
            Do you need a UHF or VHF, digital or not? Ect