300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lasers?

Not a police officer, but hoping that someone could shed some light on these? I've been looking at the crimson trace laser grips and the new laserlyte RL-1 rear sight lasers and was wondering if these were practical for the streets, home defense, or at all. I'm an armored car driver/guard and could use any advantage I can get. Thanks.

Practically? Not so much, in my opinion. If you have to draw your firearm in a situation, the last thing I would hope you'd do is to search for your little red dot on the bad guy. You'd be much better off focusing on the threat, and getting good sight picture/alignment. IMO, using your laser would distract you from that, especially when, god forbid, you should have to draw and fire quickly.

There are uses for the laser, but I'm not familiar enough with them to explain them in detail. I really don't think they're a practical tool for self-defense, but for the range, they could be fun. Perhaps I'm wrong.

Comment

Would it not be practical for secondary acquisition of the target, to check yourself in those split seconds? I also considered the surefire x400 weapon mounted light, maybe a better add-on than a laser?

Comment

Not LE either...

One arguement for a laser is that you don't have to line the gun up to your face (around corners etc.) If you have time to prepare, you may turn it on...but don't count on it. When concealed...I have read a few people that have had issues with the holster turning on the laser (lasermax)...somewhat embarrasing if someone else points out that your t-shirt is glowing.

My thoughs are for my wife should she feel the need to arm herself in the house. I can't decide if a laser would be good or bad. (Guess that depends on if I want to be shot or just scarred.)

Comment