300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forest Service LE

I have a few questions about US Forest Service LE positions if anybody here works for them:
    1). Do they get take home rides?
    2). Do they receive AUO or LEAP, and what % do they get?
    3). Is the agency really proactive/LE oriented? Do you actually get to make arrests? (The vacancy that I am applying for is in a border area)?

Any info would be appreciated. I would really like to work natural resources LE, I am just wondering if I would find the work satisfying in comparison to Border Patrol work....

Hey BigPat, I'm not a FS officer, but I am a BP agent going to a different NR agency, and I have several acquaintances who work for FS. They do get take home rides, most have Tahoes in that beautiful shade of green. All that I know get 25% AUO, but I don't know if that varies from office to office. As far as enforcement goes, it depends on the Patrol Captain in charge of each office. I assume you're putting in for a spot in AZ. I know the guys in Nogales and Sierra Vista work ALOT of dope, so that would be pretty satisfying work. Back home I know they do DUIs, marijuana grows, and pretty much any law enforcement that needs to be done in the forest. Budgets can be iffy, especially with the emphasis on terrorism in today's law enforcement. My opinion, go for it and don't look back.

Comment

Originally posted by GB0610
      Fox is 100% accurate. To add to his comments about enforcement, I will reiterate that it truly does depend on your Patrol Captain and the patrol sector.