300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fed Interns

I am currently working as an intern (STEP) for a federal natural resources law enforcement agency. I am working with one other intern and our tentative end date is 09/30. The deal is though one of us will be selected to stay on with the agency as a permanent intern and will be apart of the SCEP program which almost guarantees you a agent position.

I am a 19 year old student at the local community college studying criminal justice. I also work for the state liquor control board doing underage buys and have gone on over 130 hours of ride alongs with state law enforcement officers. So that is basically my background.

The other intern is 29 has 10 years military police experience, also a local community college criminal justice student. He will also have veterans points, wartime veterans points, and disabled veterans points.

One of the agents was talking to me and basically said in nicer words that he's gonna be the guy and was telling me what I should do after the internship. I already knew I was against some pretty good competition with the background he has.

Now to my question, since I am already a intern with a fed LE agency, does that make it look more appealing to another agency as a potential intern hire?

Howdy

Wildlife,
    My understanding is you have to be 21 for a LE position. Yes, interning with any agency will help in the job process.

Comment

Originally posted by dsns5000 View Post
      Wildlife,
      My understanding is you have to be 21 for a LE position. Yes, interning with any agency will help in the job process.
      I know I have to be 21 for a LE position. What I am asking is if I apply to another federal agency for a intern position will the prior fed internship experience help me?