Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opportunities in the LE Field for People With Color-Vision Issues?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Opportunities in the LE Field for People With Color-Vision Issues?

I have a BS university degree and took many Criminal Justice classes, even passed the Laws of Arrest Course PC832. Applied to LAPD a while ago and ended up failing the color vision test. I didn't even know I had a problem before this. Turned out that I had red/green color deficiency. After that major disappointment, I did some volunteering as a paramedic abroad, and now that I'm back home, I'd like to find out if there are any jobs in Law Enforcement that don't require you to have perfect color vision.

I'm willing to relocate to virtually anywhere in the US. My color vision is almost as good as anyone else's, I just can't pass the Ishihara test. Any opportunities for people with this type of issue in Law Enforcement? Probation maybe - does anyone know if they require a color vision test? The LA Co. probation website doesn't have too much info.
    Last edited by enegue; 06-25-2008, 03:57 AM.

I think every law enforcement agency, that being federal, state, county, and local departments require a color vision test. It's important to be able to distinguish between all colors when your on the job.

Comment

Have you tried to appeal? Perhaps you can do a field test with the eye doctor. There is another color deficiency test that is acceptable and is listed in the POST documentation, in the vision pdf (try searching the POST site). It's called the Farnsworth D-15.

Also, search "colorblind," "color blind" and/or "color deficiency" on this site, there is lots of discussion and info. Good luck.

Comment