Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cyber crime / fraud work at the local LE level?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cyber crime / fraud work at the local LE level?

Greetings folks,

I'm a established IT professional with a strong network and security background. I've been seriously researching and considering applying for the FBI, but I can't get over the fact that you may have to relocate. I have two homes in my current locale, and absolutely have no desire to relocate. Do you folks know if local police have cyber crime divisions, and what does it take to get into these divisions? It appears to me that you have to have a minimum of two years of patrol work to be even considered for an investigative position? Are there any other options?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Depends on the size of the department if they have a cybercrime division.

Most are uniformed positions, I believe, given the nature of the work

I know some of the radio and computer techs that do systems work (building, designing, repair) are civilian/non-uniformed

Comment

Uniformed position is what I'm interested in. Do you know if you can join the cyber crime track right after the academy, or do you have to do your time in the streets first?

Originally posted by a cashew View Post
      Depends on the size of the department if they have a cybercrime division.

Most are uniformed positions, I believe, given the nature of the work

I know some of the radio and computer techs that do systems work (building, designing, repair) are civilian/non-uniformed

Comment

My old SO has a cyber crimes unit (3-4 Deputies), a Deputy on the local FBI Cyber Crimes task force and a Deputy that works with the FBI in the regional computer crimes lab....

All started out in the Jail....worked the Road....then went into the Investigations Unit were they were sent to training......