Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking into a career ( questions )

Hey guys

I've been recently looking into a career into police work, but don't really have any idea where to start and have a few general questions.

First let me tell you a little about myself. I'm 20 years old graduated High School back in 2006. Since High school I've had a couple of jobs but have been focused on starting a company in the IT field. That plan has sort of went belly up so now I have to move on to something more realistic. I've registered for school but have never actually taken any classes. In high school I was a member of several organizations, one being JROTC where I finished as the highest ranked student and won several awards on my way to graduation.

I've worked a few official jobs, one being a retail job with Circuit City for about two and half years. That started before I graduated and ended about a year after I graduated. Other then that I only have seasonal work experience. I'm a very motivated and athletic person and have wanted to be a police officer for a good while, but just recently decided to really aim for it.

I was looking on the Florida Highway Patrol website for some information. There is an application option that I started filling out but there are some requirements that I'm not really sure I understand and I was hoping you guys could give me some advise.

One of the requirements is either your AA degree, years in the military, or "two years of public contact experience" What actually classifies as "two years of public contact experience"?

I am 20 years old so a job at the county police office is out of the question as they require you to be 21, which I turn next month, but would much rather go into something a little larger scale such as the FHP or maybe even a national organization.

So do you guys have any advice or answers for me? Thanks in advance!

Good Luck

Aethix,