300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I in the wrong career field?

OK...so I graduated from college with a bachelor's degree in criminology last December. Decided to join the local police academy which started in July. Was happy and content with my decision. Being a police officer seems to be the only thing that I really wanted to pursue. This was not by process of elimination, but something I really wanted to do.

So fast forward to start of police academy. Was told it would be military style, figured I'd be ok...wasn't Dropped out after the first day.

Since then, I have been EXTREMELY frustrated with that decision. I've looked around for jobs in my field but nothing interests me like being a police officer. That decision is probably pretty high up on the list of decisions I most regret.

So now I am at a crossroads. I am located in pittsburgh and you have to pay your own way through the academy. I've heard stories of people graduating from the academy and working part time for a year or two which obviously doesn't appeal to me. Those types of waits, however, usually happen to those without a bachelor's degree.

So I am SERIOUSLY looking into going back to the academy for January's class. And if I do, I am NOT going to drop out and give up. I will go the whole way through.

So am I nuts? Has this happened to any of you before? I basically just set everything back 5 months...at 25, I am ready to settle down with my girlfriend and start living our lives together.

Is there any chance the academy may not let me back in? I know I have to contact them for a definite answer. The academy is the allegheny police academy in case anyone local sees this.

Dont' ask me why I gave up so quickly...way back when I was younger I went to a psychologist when my parents were going through a divorce and he told my mom I just don't like being yelled at...waaaah, I know. I would like to think i am over that by now, haha.