Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does A Series 7 Help With Government Jobs?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does A Series 7 Help With Government Jobs?

Hello All,

I’m looking for some guidance on a possible career change. A little background:

-Turning 39 in June
    -Bachelor’s degree in political science
    ​​-Currently 5 years experience in the financial industry (Franklin Templeton Investments and Raymond James Financial)

FT I was a customer service transfer agent, and at RJF a cost basis analyst. I do have my series 7 license.

My question is, and this is a long shot, with my above experience and license does any of it help when it comes to federal law enforcement jobs? Or any type of investigative job paths within the Treasury Dept? What about state or city jobs?

FYI I live in Florida. I have a fiancé and a 4 month old daughter.

Thank you everyone for the reading this, and any guidance.

Unless you're a veteran, you've likely aged out of "covered" federal LE jobs. You could look at analyst positions with Dept of Treasury. I've seen some vacancies in the past that might be a good fit for your skillset. Non-covered administrative/civil investigator positions might be an option. With a few years of experience prosecuting white collar crimes, I couldn't get referred for any positions like that though. You may get more mileage since you actually have the technical background. If you're willing to move, you will have far more options.

Comment

Most federal LEO covered positions have an age limit of 37. There are a few options left. CBP, Border Patrol and ICE ERO all have a cutoff of age 40. This means that all you need to get is a TSL (tentative selection letter) by age 40. Those are the only covered federal LE positions that I can think of off the top of my head unless you are a veteran.