300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gay-friendly LEO agencies...

So, anyone know of any gay-friendly police departments? It is not something that I want to throw in any person's face, but I do not want to hide any more. In fact, lying about orientation got me DQ'd one time and I will have to reapply after the deferral period... in my mind, I should not have had to lie about it but I felt that I did.

I can and have done extensive research on the topic and found departments that claim to be tolerant... but I am looking for practical experience here... anyone working in a department that is particularly accepting or at least not anti-gay?

I have a master's degree and currently 1.5 years experience as a LEO but am not in a dept with civil service ... so I am beginning to look for something else.

Thanks a lot!

Originally posted by TXleoapplicant View Post
    . . . but I am looking for practical experience here... anyone working in a department that is particularly accepting or at least not anti-gay?
    I've agency I've worked for and with, fed, state, and local, had officers/agents that were openly gay. While there were some narrow minded tools who had problems with it, the vast majority didn't care about sexual orientation. Good cops care only about one thing, is the other person a good hardworking cop that they can trust with their lives.

Comment

Originally posted by SA13 View Post
      I've agency I've worked for and with, fed, state, and local, had officers/agents that were openly gay. While there were some narrow minded tools who had problems with it, the vast majority didn't care about sexual orientation. Good cops care only about one thing, is the other person a good hardworking cop that they can trust with their lives.
      I totally agree.