Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal employment

Hey guys,
    I’m looking to make a jump from local law enforcement to federal possibly. I’m a veteran with 2 deployments as a light infantry team leader/ squad leader. Bachelors degree where I graduated Magna Cum Laude in Behavioral Sciences. Have 3 years of local law enforcement experience in a 400 man department with several awards already. I’m looking to start a masters program soon in management (easier MBA alternative). I have looked into several agencies and want to know if anybody has any advice to break into the fed law enforcement?
    thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Hopeful_vet; 11-06-2020, 02:59 PM.

Apply broadly to "covered" federal law enforcement positions. If you are geographically mobile, that will help you. If you limit yourself to just one state or region, it could be awhile before you see vacancies that you want or are qualified for. How old are you currently? Having veteran status should help you a bit. There are some positions that veterans can apply to, but which aren't open to members of the public.

Also would recommend that you be patient. Starting at age 32, I tried off and on for two years before obtaining a federal law enforcement offer. I applied to virtually every covered position I could find -- BoP, BIA, USPP, USMS, IRS CID, various OIGs, and a number of US Probation Offices. I was starting to get worried about aging out, and was looking seriously at becoming a BoP CO to stop the clock.

Comment

You have a good background, so you shouldn't have issues getting into the hiring process. I started with the BOP and went from there. Definitely wasn't my first choice, but they hire quickly and the experience was good. It just depends on what you want from your career.

From my experience, the fastest and most reliable hiring processes tend to be BOP, CBP, BP, USSS, and FBI.

Comment

• nonotnow
        nonotnow commented
        Editing a comment