Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How much does having a TS/SCI help you become an 1811?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much does having a TS/SCI help you become an 1811?

I'm looking for some advice on my job search. This has probably been addressed in another post somewhere, but I haven't found it.

I'm currently a local LEO at a medium size department. My goal is to become an 1811. I have eight years of experience with four as a detective. I also have a Bachelor's degree. Because of turnover, I'm now one of the most experienced detectives at my department. Basically, I'm in a position where I'm getting a lot of good experience that I think will help me with achieving my goal.

However, I've been applying for various federal positions for a couple years now, but there hasn't been much movement on the processes. Most of the time, I don't hear anything at all.

There is a DOD facility near my city that posted an opening for police officers recently. I applied and got an email to set up an interview for next week. I'm not guaranteed to get the job obviously, but I think I would be highly competitive. The job requires you to obtain a TS/SCI, which I imagine would be a good resume booster for me. Unfortunately, the job would also be a pretty sizable pay cut, and it would be a step down in terms of responsibilities and investigative experience from where I am now. It's a GG-6 grade, which I think is pretty low.

The other issue for me is the DOD position already asked me to send professional references and tell them to expect to be contacted. Supervision in my department does not take very kindly to people applying elsewhere, and it could lead to me losing future opportunities if I stay where I am.