300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Veteran LEO Looking into FL LEO Opportunity

Need some suggestions from my Florida brothers on possibly heading down to finish my career up in Florida. I am a certified officer from another state. Worked in narcotics units, and task forces in Kansas also. Certified in two states in the midwest. Investigations is specialty, have 5 yrs experience with that also.

My concern would be that being 42, may or may not hurt me in seeking to end my career in another agency. I am looking either at Miami Gardens, or somewhere, which will give me a good retirement package that I can start building, as my agency up here, really has little or no retirement benefits, and I need to look at this as a father of four, instead of the young guy who didn't care about pay and benefits when he started, and just wanted do the job.

Anyone in Florida that can throw an old dawg a bone, I would love to hear you suggestions.

Just to fend off any questions that might be asked. I have a good background, and nothing in my work history that would be a bad mark, just a few credit ticks as the pay and four kids have taken a toll after a few yrs, and a few medical accidents have done to it, other than that, I should be able to get a job, unless they figure I am an old timer.....thanks in advance.

Don't know how good it is, but....

Look at Miami Gardens PD - they are starting up new department from scratch - only hiring laterals to start. Supposed to be a pretty rough area, but they have an excellent package.

http://miamigardenspolice.org/

Good luck