300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lawful Permanent Resident needs advice

Alright guys, after surfing this forum for a long time, I have finally decided to post my question. I am at a critical juncture in my career and need some good career advice.

I was born and raised in India and I speak very good English. I am just crazy about being a Special Agent with the FBI and I know what it takes to be one. I am open to regular LE positions as well, but my heart and passion is really with the FBI. I am 30 years old.

As you might have guessed from the title of the thread, I am a Lawful Permanent Resident who is close to 3 years away from being eligible to file for naturalization.

My questions are:

1) What options do I have in these 3 years?
    2) Would it help if I were to get a Masters in Criminal Justice in the meantime?
    3) Would it help if I learnt a foreign language? (I already know Hindi)
    4) Would some volunteer work for LE help?
    5) Would I be too old to join LE 3-4 years from now (I'd be between 33-34)? In my personal opinion, if I can get to do my dream job for even a day in my life, it would be worth it. Lots of people have told me that there are many people who change careers quite a few times before they come across the one that is right for them and I believe that, but what do you guys think?
    6) Most importantly, what can I do in these 3 years to make myself a better candidate and a cut above the rest, for the LE agencies, especially the FBI?

Inputs will be appreciated.

-Thank you.

Edit -By the way, I am in AZ.
    Last edited by wildestkabs; 05-17-2007, 11:28 PM.