Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is it worth pursuing a Doctorate degree (career progression in FEDLE)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it worth pursuing a Doctorate degree (career progression in FEDLE)

Hey all almost done with my Masters and looking to pursue a Doctorate in Emergency Management. Is there any perks to receiving a Doctorate and working in federal law enforcement? Any 1811s out there want to share their experiences/input are more than welcome! Thanks again, be safe!

I’m never going to tell someone not to better themselves, but I doubt getting a doctorate will get you anything more. Some of the best agents I’ve worked with have no degree, I’ve been an 1811 with a big agency for a few years now and only have a bachelors. I was a cop for 5 years prior.

Comment

A PHD/Doctorate is a complete waste of time unless your end goal is to go and teach in academia full time.

Comment

Originally posted by Levithane View Post
        A PHD/Doctorate is a complete waste of time unless your end goal is to go and teach in academia full time.
        Read this 10 times
        Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Thanks guys!!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Levithane View Post
            Which actually isn't a bad end goal... retire at 57 or whenever you're eligible if you have a teaching job lined up and go teach criminology or terrorism or some crap related to LE. College professor is the least stressful job in America. I know several guys who have retired and went on to teach, but only those with Master's degrees. I know of two? who were locals before hand and were re-vested into the state pension system due to taking jobs at state schools.