Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Local officer to Federal, when to apply?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Local officer to Federal, when to apply?

Hey guys,
    I work for a fairly large local police department. I'm fairly new with about 1.5 years on the road. I love it, however i'm losing interest when it comes to working, what I consider small cases. The traffic stops and finding user amounts of dope, flipping them for small dealers with 1-2 grams, if i'm lucky more, is becoming slightly boring. i'm very interested in working Federally, possibly HSI, ATF, Marshals. I have a bachelor's degree and graduated with Honors. I am a military vet who spent 4 years active duty as an infantryman with 2 deployments to Afghanistan (Kunar,Kandahar). I plan to spend a minimum of 3-4 years on the road before I even consider applying for the Feds, however i'm 30 years old so that places me applying at 33-34 with a 1-2 year hiring process, that cuts time very close. I also don't want to burn bridges with my department if i don't get the job and currently have a great reputation of working hard. Any advice? I know my situation isn't unique and have spoken to other local Officers who have applied and not selected and stayed on the road, stating it doesn't hurt them much with the department as they feel lucky to have a decent Officer stay with the department in the current climate. I will say i'm worried about missing the action of the street, but look forward to possibly working larger cases.

Thanks

Well....

Maybe you can plan things out to a T. Some people do.

But more likely timing will be a factor. The G will go years without hiring, then when they do, they go big.

So you could wait 3-4 years, only to have the G hit another slow hire cycle. Then it could be too late for you when they hire again.