Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal LE Agencies

Hello All,
    Just wanted some insight from you guys. I've completed 2 years of local law enforcement. I have my Bachelor's in Homeland Security and I'm four classes away from getting my Master's in Criminal Justice. I was really hoping to go federal eventually. However, in my research it looks like most federal agencies send you off to random field offices. Is there any law enforcement capacity that I am missing that you get a choice where you go? Any general advice? Much appreciated in advance.

Riggs

It depends on the agency. Your larger agencies (FBI, HSI, ATF, USMS, DSS, DEA, USSS, etc.) are going to send you where they want. When I got hired with a larger agency we were not told where we would go when we were offered the position. The first week on the job we ranked the field offices. Some people got their first choice others got their third or fourth. With HSI and USMS they tell you the location when offered and you might be able to choose from a few locations but sometimes none of the choices given are ideal. It really depends on how bad you want the job. FBI doesn't tell you until like week 5 or 6 of the academy.

Your smaller agencies (OIGs) often fly announcements for one specific location so I guess in that regard you have a "choice" because you chose to put in for that spot.

My advice to you is try to find a good fit both professional and personally. Being an 1811 is a great gig but the fact is it's a job. Like any job I have had I take it seriously and do it to the best of my ability but at the end of the day it's my family and what makes me happy outside of work that is truly the most important thing. What I am trying to say is don't go somewhere you would be miserable spending at LEAST 3 to 5 years. The allure of being a federal agent will soon wear off and you will just be miserable. Your happiness outside of work far outweighs whatever job you have. My .02