300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LE Park Ranger

What is the pathway to a career as a LE Park Ranger? This is a career path that highly interests me but in my research I haven't found a clear explanation on the path to become this kind of Park Ranger. I am looking for a permanent position. Would that only be federal or are there permanent state and local jobs as well? Is being with the NPS worth it?

I've looked up these gigs on indeed in different locations to get an idea, and some say you have to have at least 1 year LE experience. What would count as LE experience?

I have no law enforcement experience, just AA degree in criminal justice and will have my bachelor's soon. I am an EMT and currently working as one and have a couple years experience under my belt. Which I know some gigs want you to have this certification. If any current or former LE Park Rangers could help I appreciate it.

With NPS, you will probably have to pay your way through the NPS level 2 academy in order to get picked up seasonally and then trying for a full time spot unless you're willing to work at an urban park.
    I don't answer recruitment messages....

Comment

You would have to attend one of these

http://www.mysvc.skagit.edu/director...pagenumber=398

and pay your own way. Being an EMT is huge. Finish the academy and get a seasonal NPS LE gig. Apply for a bunch of them and be willing to go anywhere. Work 6mos at one park and then get another gig somewhere else. Build your experience toward a permanent gig after a few years.

Comment

I am looking for a permanent position

So are a lot of people....

This is perhaps somewhat dated information, but this is how it works: