Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Federal law enforcement agencies that will hire straight out of college?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Federal law enforcement agencies that will hire straight out of college?

I have around 2 years of office work experience, I have a BA in Sociology and Business from University of Colorado Boulder and I will be getting my MBA from Regis University in Denver in December. I want to get on with a federal law enforcement agency however I keep getting denied. I was denied by the FBI (SA), DEA (SA) and ICE (Criminal Investigator) just from my application.

Is there any agencies that I should look into? Or how can I get my foot in the door?

Go do local police work. Try again in a few years. Or look for recent grad announcements.

Comment

USMS, OIG, Fed Wildlife and a few others all do recent grad hiring. Just look for those.

Comment

• silvas006
        silvas006 commented
        Editing a comment
        USMS would be awesome, I emailed them when I was in my last year of undergrad and they said most of their applicants have 10 years + of law enforcement or military experience so I never applied.

• CSUAlum
        CSUAlum commented
        Editing a comment
        always apply regardless of what anyone anywhere tells you. I was sitting waiting for my interview with USMS and one of the guys was a legit recent grad with only minimal office experience. At the very least he got an interview.

Even my position now - I didn't think I would qualify and next thing I knew I was standing in front of the Branch Chief accepting the job.

Join the military get some experience and then apply. Military background opens many doors in the federal LEO world.

Comment

Recent grad posting is your best bet.

Comment

Bpa/Cbp, Capitol Police, and BOP are all worth applying for. There are some DOD openings that hire at a low grade (gs 3 & gs 4) that you would qualify for.