300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Illinois State Corrections Hiring Process

Has anyone here been through the entire Illinois State Corrections Hiring Process (any IL COs here?), and if so, could you shed some light on it?

They suck. worst job ever. you better think twice before you sign that paper.

Comment

I appreciate your reply, and was hoping that you would be able to shed some light on the actual process. I was certified to hire about 2 weeks ago, and I was wondering how long it usually takes to get "the call." I scored a 60, (no LEO experience, but I have a college degree and consider myself to be in great shape), and am on the lists for Pontiac, Danville, and Dwight. My questions are: when are academies usually held? Do you go for a medical examiniation before the academy or during it? Does IDOC hire every year? Is my score okay, or should I retest?

Also, what were the downsides of the Job, Jean? It sounds like you despised it!

I understand that Illinois Correctional facilities are understaffed, but what are the downsides to being a CO? I am really drawn to the field and want to establish a career in Corrections, but I can't believe how long the hiring process is. Any information would be appreciated, even if you aren't from Illinois and have been through the process with another state's correctional facilities.

Comment

Originally posted by jeanjj28
        They suck. worst job ever. you better think twice before you sign that paper.
        Do you have any other information Jean or anybody else reading this? Surely there must be others on the forum who have been through the IDOC process or who are currently working at a state correctional facility that is comparable to IDOC.

Comment

*BUMP*

(Last time I'll bump this one!)

Any IDOC employees out there?

Comment

Glockil,