300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is 50 years old too old to join?

First time poster, long-time visitor here. This is a great site for info.

I'm in the Southern California area and would like a mid-life career change as a police officer. I'm 50 years old. No maximum ages are posted by any departments (federal jobs are different and post 37 as the max). Do I even have a chance? What are the challenges for an older person?

I'm thinking maybe the background investigation might pose the biggest hurdle. I've been around a long time and have been in a couple different industries, and in my old information technology career, I was a consultant with a couple different corporations that took me all over the country and even Saudi Arabia. I'm not even sure how an investigator can track down my associates from over there.

Physically, I'll be able to hang with the much younger people, so I don't see that as a problem.

What do you folks think?

Thanks for the input. I know several over 50 too but my concern is joining in as a rookie. Most officers start retiring at this late age.

Comment