300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Antidepressant meds get you dq'd?

I'm a not-so-recent college grad and am 1000% sure that I want to be a police officer. I am already on three lists and have been rejected from one position. My current plan is to take professional security courses, martial arts lessons, and try to get placed in some sort of security position to build up my LE resume. There is only one problem.

At 18, when I was a senior in HS, I believed I was clinically depressed, sought treatment from an MD, and was put on meds. This was June '01; I stayed on the meds until July '05. The _only_ reason I stayed on them for so long was out of habit; the psychiatric community actually advises patients to _never_ discontinue use of meds, just as a diabetic wouldn't. Well, I did last year, and have managed to stay ship-shape through some very difficult times. I'm not sure now if depression can ever really be classified as a physical disease, but I do know I never had it. All I had were the ups and downs of LIFE.

My question is: should I even bother? Will PD's disqualify me out of hand because of this med history? The "mental patient" stigma is very serious, so much so that a past president of the American Psychological Association actually recommended people lie about it. I don't feel comfortable lying to PD's, though.

I _have_, after a long waiver process, been cleared for military service. My plan was to join the Air National Guard after getting my probationary period done at a PD, but would my cause be served better by 4 years' active duty?

Any help would be appreciated. God bless.

Well you are definitely in a difficult situation. Although you may not have even been clinically depressed, the only thing that will matter to most PDs is the fact that you were diagnosed. However, I'm not here to dash your hopes and dreams, so I'll give you the best advice I can think of: