Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cop job for non citizen

Hi,

All my life I wanted to be a cop, since i was 10, but here is a problem - I'm not a citizen of US. I'm a legal resident with working permit. Is there any way to get employed with LE?

Please help.

P.S. I live in NH.
    Last edited by AlexS; 10-03-2006, 03:31 PM.

Dude,

How can you be a legal resident living in NH when your profile says you are in Russia?

No bueno!
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Originally posted by L-1
      Dude,

How can you be a legal resident living in NH when your profile says you are in Russia?

No bueno!
      I just lived there before I came here, forgot to upgrade the profile...

Comment

Standards will vary from state to state. Here are the rules for California:

California Government Code Section 1031 and 1031.5 states that a peace officer shall be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has applied for citizenship.

Any permanent resident alien who is employed as a peace officer shall diligently cooperate with the Immigration and Naturalization Service in the processing of his or her application for citizenship and shall be disqualified from holding that position if, three years after the filing of an application for employment, the person has not obtained citizenship due to failure to cooperate in the process of the application for citizenship.

Any permanent resident alien who is employed as a peace officer shall be disqualified from holding that position if his or her application for citizenship is denied.

Information on obtaining citizenship can be found on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services website.