Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would a sociology degree help me...

Hello all,

I am currently a college student and am studying sociology. I am very interested in Federal Law Enforcement and becoming a special agent. I was wondering if sociology is an acceptable (or even desired) degree to get so that I can pursue a career in law enforcement at a federal level. I am very interested in working with the FBI, DEA, NSA, or USMS. I also would not mind working with a local agency for a few years either. However I would ultimately like to end up at a Federal job.

I see a lot of the agencies are looking for people who studied Arabic cultures, Spanish Language, and Engineering degrees. I also see some are looking for biology degrees and other hard science degrees. However I am really not interested in studying those at the moment but enjoy sociology.

I am curious as to whether I will make a decent candidate for a special agent with a degree in sociology at one of the federal agencies listed above, or even other agencies.

Thanks to all who respond.
    Last edited by Tecumseh; 09-28-2006, 06:43 AM.

I don't think it really matters what kind of degree you get. I'm in your position too though.

When I was in high school, I sat down with a Buffalo Detective and he said, whatever I do, don't do Criminal Justice. Wherever you go, they will train you. However, if you can bring something else to the table, that's great. I'll be finishing up my accounting degree in a few months which is great for DEA and FBI. Granted its not a "way in," but its a plus from my understanding. Personally, I think your best bet is to get on the phone with a recruiter and quite simply ask what they might show preference too.

Comment