300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any LEO pilots here?

I am trying to break into law enforcement flying (either fixed wing or rotary wing) and was wondering if there are any LEO pilots here. I have contacted a few agencies (LAPD, NYPD, etc) but you have to be a patrol officer first with the respective agency before being eligible to apply for a pilot position which I can understand. I was wondering if there are any agencies where you can go directly to the cockpit following academy training. Our local Sheriff (Hamilton County) hires directly to the cockpit but they do not have any openings at this time.
    Last edited by CincyCop; 03-03-2006, 08:19 PM.
    "Let's Roll" - T. Beamer

There are some out there

I think Jacksonville PD may. I'm not positive. Question is do you have any flight time now. Just curious. If you have some flight time I think it would be more of a possibility. I'm a Chinook pilot in the Army, but I have an interest in LE, I have my degree in CJ, was looking at LE when I get out.

Comment

Originally posted by blakech47
      I think Jacksonville PD may. I'm not positive. Question is do you have any flight time now. Just curious. If you have some flight time I think it would be more of a possibility. I'm a Chinook pilot in the Army, but I have an interest in LE, I have my degree in CJ, was looking at LE when I get out.
      Greetings, Blake...I'll check out Jacksonville PD. I have not flown since October of 2001 when I was furloughed from Delta Airlines. I have not flown rotary wing since getting off active duty in 1992 as a Navy SH-60B Seahawk pilot so the lack of currency will probably be a problem. I just joined the Civil Air Patrol so that I will be able to get fixed wing current again.

-Collin
      "Let's Roll" - T. Beamer

Comment

Fly!

blakech47, is your intention to go directly to law enforcement flying once off active duty?

-Collin
        "Let's Roll" - T. Beamer

Comment